en Select a Language

Got a Misdemeanor in Texas? Here is What You Need to Know 

jail time

Levels of Crime under Texas Law: 

  • Infractions – Crimes only punishable with monetary fines and do not result in being arrested. This can be a citation for loud music, jaywalking or tickets received while driving. 
  • Misdemeanors – Crimes punishable by fines and/or short period jail time. Fines usually don’t exceed $4,000 and arrest time does not exceed one year. An individual will serve jail time in a county jail or house arrest in most cases in Texas. 
  • Felonies – Serious crimes that involve jail time by the Texas Department of Criminal Justice in a state penitentiary if the perpetrator is found guilty and usually lasts for over a year. 


Focus on Misdemeanors: 

There are three classes of misdemeanor charges in Texas: 

  • Class A – Can have up to $4,000 in fines and up to one year of county jail time if found guilty. This is the most serious class out of the three.

  • Class B – Can have up to $2,000 in fines and jail time for up to 180 days. 

  • Class C – Can have up to $500 fines and may not require any jail time. 


Sentences are determined by the Texas court and will consider if the individual has past offenses, and whether there were other factors in the offense committed that can prolong or decrease jail time or fines incurred. 

Common examples of Misdemeanors:


  • DWI 
  • Petty Theft 
  • Marijuana Possession (4 ounces or less) 
  • Public Intoxication 
  • Indecent Exposure 
  • Illegally carrying a firearm are 
  • Abuse in the Home
  • Simple Assault 

Can a Misdemeanor be Removed from My Record in Texas? 


To have a misdemeanor removed from record, you will need the assistance of a lawyer that is familiar with the process to get it removed. In Texas, for each class, there are different time frames on how long it takes to be removed from the record: 


  • Class A – Can be removed after one year from date of the arrest 
  • Class B – Can be removed after one year from date of the arrest 
  • Class C – Can be removed from a person’s record 180 days after the date of the arrest  



For it to be removed from the record and successfully expunged, the charges need to be dismissed or pardoned by the governor after being found guilty. This can be beneficial for individuals looking for employment, applying for universities, renting an apartment or even applying for credit. 


Contact a Lawyer to Help You

Let iLaw USA help you with our Dallas misdemeanor defense lawyer to represent you and get you the best possible result. 


Call (469) 998-iLaw (4529)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.